Ketuvim (Writings)

The writings are a mixture of different  sorts of literature and topics. There is poetry, Wisdom literature, apocalypse and history. The title of Writings as vague as it is fits quite well. As far as the narrative is concerned, it does not continue neatly through the Ketuvim. The Ketuvim is divided into three divisions:  Poetry, The Megilloth and History.

The Poetry section contains Psalms, Proverbs and Job. Proverbs, along with Psalms contain no narrative  potions.  Psalms is divided into five books that are traditionally read  along with the books of the Torah.

The Megilloth or The Five Rolls are grouped together because of their liturgical use. The books emphasize aspects of some of the feasts.  Purim is a feast that commemorates the story of how a Jewish Girl who becomes queen of Persia and saves her people from a plot to destroy the Jews.

The History division contains Daniel, Ezra-Nehemiah and Chronicles. Christians put Daniel in the prophetic division. Denel contains stories of the Babylonian captivity and the fall of Babylon. Ezra-Nehemiah tell the story of the return from the exile and the rebuilding of Jerusalem and the temple. Chronicles covers roughly the same time period as does Kings.